Andrea Werneck Richa

Associate Professor,
Computer Science and Engineering

School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision systems Engineering
Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Arizona State University
Box 878809
Tempe, AZ 85287-8809, U.S.A.
phone 480-965-7555 (voice) 480-965-2751 (fax)
E-mail: initial first name + last name at asu dot edu

Classes Taught Recently

Office Hours:

Tu Th 1:15pm-1:45pm; or by appointment only.

Discrete Math and Algorithms Seminar

Curriculum Vitae (last updated 08/14)


Projects, Awards, and Grants

Associate Editor, IEEE Tansactions on Mobile Computing

US-Brazil Collaboration Project Highlight: CODPON, A DTN\data mule network focused on Amazon riverine population with e-health applications

  • slides

  • Tutorial on "Algorithmic Foundations of Ad Hoc Networks", ETH Zurich

    Plenary Speaker, Ad-Hoc Now'07 (updated version)

    Adversarial Models for Wireless Communication , Keynote Speaker SIROCCO'13 (20th International Colloquium on Structural Information and Complexity)

    I completed my Ph. D. in Algorithms, Combinatorics, and Optimization at the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon University, under the supervision of Bruce Maggs.

    Ph. D. Thesis

    Conference/Program Committees

  • NSF Workshop on Self-organizing Particle Systems (SOPS), 2014, colocated with ACM-SIAM SODA 2014, General co-Chair and Founder
  • IEEE NetSciCom'11 (to be held in conjunction with INFOCOM'11), General Chair
  • ACM PODC 2010, General Chair
  • SSS 2012, Program Co-Chair
  • ACM DIALM-POMC'10, Program Co-Chair
  • IEEE NetSciCom'10 (held in conjunction with INFOCOM'10), Program Co-Chair
  • IEEE NetSciCom'09 (held in conjunction with INFOCOM'09), Program Co-Chair and Founder
  • ACM DIALM-POMC'03, Program Co-Chair
  • ACM PODC treasurer (2008-09)
  • ACM SPAA Publicity Chair (2007-11)

  • IEEE NetSciCom Steering Committee 2011--
  • ACM PODC Steering Committee 2008-2011
  • Workshop on Foundations of Mobile Computing (FOMC, formerly DIALM-POMC) 2010--

    Recent PC memberships (2009-2013):

  • ACM STOC 2013
  • ACM PODC 2009, 2012
  • DISC 2010, 2013
  • ACM SPAA 2011, 2013
  • IEEE ICDCS 2011
  • SSS 2011
  • ACM-SIAM SODA 2008, 2012
  • LATIN 2012, 2014
  • Older PC memberships

    Supervised Students


  • Hai Huang, MS (Intel)
  • Gayathri Vuppulluri, MS (Compaq)
  • Sardar Srinivasar, MCS (Compaq)
  • Shiva Sundararaman, MS (Qualcom)
  • Anshul Dawra, MS (IBM)
  • Jim Higgins, MCS (Intellitel)
  • Rumana Islam, MCS
  • Ryan Sowa, MS, current


  • Soohyun Oh, PhD 2005 (Sungkyunkwan University, Korea)
  • Donglin Xia, PhD 2008 (Microsoft Research)
  • Melih Onus, PhD 2009 (Bilkent University, Turkey)
  • Antonio Cardenas, PhD 2010 (Universidad Autonoma de Mexico, Mexicali)
  • Oleg Bakun, PhD 2011
  • Jin Zhang, PhD 2012 (Google)
  • Xinhui Hu, PhD
  • Chenyang Zhou, PhD
  • Mengxue Liu, PhD
  • Zahra Derakhshandeh, PhD


  • Christopher Shiflet, undergrad Honors thesis
  • Phillip Stevens, undergraduate research (NSF REU and ASU FURI)
  • Ryan Sowa, undergrad Honors thesis
  • Derrick Rahbar, undergrad Honors thesis

  • Personal Links

    This page has been partially updated on 08/20/14.